Jaime Karnes is in StoryGlossia

jaimekarnespic

Congratulations to second-year fiction student Jaime Karnes. Her story “The Rhetorician’s Baby” is in the current issue of StoryGlossia.

My rhetorician and I had difficulties getting pregnant. It turned out to be fertility problems on my side; a genetic defect as common as the rose colored birthmarks on my left thigh.

Oh, Doctor H had said, it’s definitely you, definitely not your rhetorician. Here, he said, here’s a pamphlet on adoption, really a very nice alternative in these situations.

I put the pamphlet in my purse and left it there until after dinner. Halibut and asparagus; I had been eating healthy for the baby.

Nourish yourself and he will come to you, my rhetorician said.

Here, I said, producing the pamphlet. He’s not coming. May I have cheeseburger now?

Go here to read the rest of the story.

This entry was posted in Student Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jaime Karnes is in StoryGlossia

  1. momoody says:

    Wow! Congrats Jaime!

Leave a Reply

